[ANN] A PureScript Python Backend

Hi community,

This is an announcement for a new Python back end of PureScript.

TL;DR: just reading the bold text in following paragraphs.

The main compiler repo is PureScript Python, in which I succeeded in reusing most codegen components of JavaScript back ends, including optimizations for JS, by slightly modifying CodeGen.JS and writing my own code emitter.

I’m one who learned a lot programming languages, and also created a lot. Also I’m a student who is studying under the supervision of some of the best researchers in the field of Programming Languages. Python is special to me, partly due to it’s the first language I digged deep in, however as time goes by, I do feel writing Python more and more disturbing.

I tried many approaches, Mypy, PyCharm, making statically typed programming languages, making Python code generators from functional programming languages like Idris. All of these workarounds have unsolvable problems, and I suffered a lot since these year. For instance,

• Mypy: not strong enough, not higher kinded types, cannot use monad, verbose annotations…
  • PyCharm: even weaker than Mypy, just better when it comes to real time checking.
  • Making programming languages: type inference for Higher Rank Types turns out to be really horrible to me and I think it too difficult ot maintain a language by myself(seems no one in Python community cares about these problems).
  • Idris/Agda code generator: in lack of source code positions(hence I cannot redirect runtime errors to the original source code), and the restricted FFI is annoying though might be safer.

In terms of better languages like Haskell, they usually cannot provide a codegen backend interface.

I did suffer a lot, I did. However! However I finally got PureScript. This is not the first time I tried PureScript, 2 years ago I did but at that time I’m in my honeymoon with Haskell(now its horrible IDE support is dismissing me…)