Bindings for Testcontainers

Hello everyone,

I’m pretty new to Purescript and to functional programming in general.

I’ve been struggling for the past couple of months trying to wrap my head around all the refactoring I need to do in my head in order to become proficient with FP and in the meantime I decided to test my skills and to learn by creating some small projects: one of this used some pretty simple bindings for Testcontainers, which - for those who do not know it - is an excellent library that allows to start and control docker containers on the fly, really useful for integration tests on backends. I decided to extrapolate it in a separate library and clean the code a little bit, and published it on my Github profile: here.

It’s still in a very alpha version, but some basic functionalities are working and I’m using it in a different project to implement some basic integration tests.

Now, the main reason why I’m writing here is because I’d love for someone with more experience than me to take a look at my code and tell me where I could improve or if there are some well-known FP patterns that I missed or should use (the only thing I’m aware about in this project is that I could have used a StateT monad at some point but I decided to write my version of it just for learning, I will probably refactor that part!)

In any case: feel free to use it and contribute if you find it interesting!

3 Likes

Just a few thoughts:

For your FFI, you don’t need "use strict"; anymore since we output ES modules as of purs 0.15.x

For your FFI, you might want to use EffectFnX/FnX rather than the curried functions you are using now. A bit more boilerplate (I’d suggest saving some template/snippet for making this easier to type), but it’ll reduce the number of closures created for each call.

Code like this:

foo = 
  let
    binding = "foo"
  in
    use binding

can be rewritten to

foo = do
  let binding = "foo"
  use binding

Maybe refactor this pattern?