Combining State and StateT

Hello everyone,

I’m pretty new to functional languages, and I’m taking the time to learn PureScript. And what better way to learn a completely new language and paradigm than starting a new project you’re not even sure you can handle on a technology you’re comfortable with, right? :smiley:

Anyways, I have some code where I need to pass along some state information, but some of my functions are “purer”, while a couple of them are very effectful. So I share the state information between them using both State and StateT Effect. However, I can’t mix them or else I’ll obviously get a type mismatch error.

I tried looking up online and the Haskell community called it a “hoist” operation and suggested this:

state . runState

But I couldn’t find a “state” function in PureScript to make a new StateT.

So I ask:

1. Does needing to do this indicate a problem in my design?
  2. If not, what’s the better way to “hoist” (whatever that is :smiley: ) from State to StateT in PureScript?

Does needing to do this indicate a problem in my design?

Not necessarily, but it’s a bit hard to tell without more details about what you’re trying to do.

If not, what’s the better way to “hoist” (whatever that is :smiley: ) from State to StateT in PureScript?

My understanding of the term “hoist” is that it is a function which allows you to swap out the underlying monad in a monad transformer. So in this case you’re going from StateT s Identity to StateT s Effect (note that State s is a synonym for StateT s Identity).

I think the state you are looking for is the one defined in the MonadState class: https://pursuit.purescript.org/packages/purescript-transformers/4.2.0/docs/Control.Monad.State.Class#t:MonadState

Another option, which might be simpler, is to write your functions in terms of class constraints rather than concrete monad transformer stacks. So for example, if you have a “purer” stateful operation whose type is, say,

op1 :: State MyState Unit