Cookies in Purescript

Hey everyone,

I am very new to frontend development, putting together a Halogen website (with a Haskell backend). However, I am experiencing a lot of issues with internet security and authentication, particularly with how to deal with cookies through Javascript. It seems like much of what is being communicated between the backend and frontend is purposely kept hidden from the Javascript code, to avoid security issues in javascript (cross-site scripting and such).

So I was wondering, given a backend that implements authentication by sending JWT in a “Set-Cookie” header, what would be the Purescript/Javascript industry standard for dealing with this authentication? Should I change the backend to work with some other system?

On a more general note, how does one deal with this apparent push away from pure-javascript-websites related to internet security and other reasons? Is it common to write essentially a separate Purescript “app” for each significantly separate path?

I’m aware this isn’t as much a Purescript-specific issue as it is a Javascript-issue, but it seemed worth asking :slight_smile:

3 Likes

After receiving a response with a Set-Cookie header, the browser should generally include cookies in subsequent requests without you having to ask it to. When making a cross-origin request (e.g. if your API server and frontend live on separate domains) you might need to ask the browser to include cookies, e.g. by using the {credentials: "include"} option if you’re using fetch. You’re right that it’s ideal to have the actual cookie value inaccessible to your JS code, because if your JS code has access to the cookie value, then it might be easier for attackers to trick people into leaking their authentication cookies (which would allow them to impersonate other users).

Can you elaborate on the issues you are experiencing? Do you need access to the JWT in PureScript so that you can parse it and use that information in your frontend?

3 Likes