FFI-related questions in creating a Wasm API wrapper

(Side note: I should have posted this in the Feedback category…)

Yesterday I’ve created and made the repository public of a FFI wrapper around the WebAssembly-related API (currently focused on Node’s one).

I’m fluent in Haskell, so learning PureScript wasn’t so hard. But this is my first project in PureScript. I got several questions when writing it:

(1) Effect or pure for a mutable type’s constructor?

I often got troubled about whether some JavaScript functions should be typed as returning a (pure) or Effect a (impure), especially when wrapping a mutable type’s constructor. For example WebAssembly.Table is inherently mutable because it implements the set method. So I marked it as impure. But its constructor doesn’t have any side-effects: it just creates a new Table object. So I marked it as pure.
Is this a right way?

(2) Wrapping a new Error class

The WebAssembly namespace provides several different error classes. So I want to make them distinct from the default Error type. But the useful functions such as throwException and try are currently only available for the Error type.

So I made a dirty hack where I typed CompileError as just a record instead of a foreign imported type and made a function to convert an Error value into a CompileError, to cheat the type checker:

I thought this has two advantages over defining a completely separate type from the default Error:

• The existing functions (e.g. try) can be used for CompileError without any change.
  • If the Error were defined as a record, the inheritance by CompileError from Error would be simulated thanks to row polymorphism (i.e. .name and .message are available both in Error and CompileError.) So it’s extensible.

How do you think about that hack?

1 Like