Halogen-formless example refreshes page and loses state

I’m new to purescript, halogen, and front end in general but I like FP so I thought I would give it a try.
Just tried copying the example in the halogen-formless README exactly but I the component seems to log to the console and then immediately refresh the page so I can’t see it. Which means I can’t do anything stateful. I changed the state to be an Array of dogs and have the form add the dog to the array and render the list of dogs. You see the dog added to the list then immediately disappear.

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Code is here: https://github.com/JoeCordingley/formless-example/blob/master/src/Dogs.purs

1 Like

The example has a bug: the browser will refresh the page when you submit a form, so you need to prevent that from happening using preventDefault. The previous version of this example didn’t use the form submit event (it used a click), so I missed the issue. When I have a little time I’ll fix it!

The issue is with line 54 where the example uses HH.form_ to create a <form> element. We instead need this to be something like:

HH.form
  [ HE.onSubmit HandleSubmit ]
  [ ... ]

with an accompanying handleAction:

data Action = HandleSubmit Web.Event.Event

-- You're already using this as your `handleEvent` function
handleEvent = Formless.raiseResult 

handleAction = case _ of
  HandleSubmit event -> do
    Web.Event.Event.preventDefault event
    run Formless.submit
  where
  run action = Formless.handleAction handleAction handleEvent action

…however, since this is so common, I really ought to add a version of F.submit that accepts an Event and prevents it on your behalf. (I’d accept a PR for this!)

2 Likes