Help me understand `newtype AppM` from the Halogen tutorial

PureScript beginner here.

I’m building a small PureScript/Node application and I’m trying to use the ReaderT pattern which is also popular in Haskell and which is used in the excellent Halogen Real World Guide.

As I was going through the implementation of AppM I noticed that the types didn’t really line up, at least no in my head.

I started by lining up the signature for the new MonadAsk instance that we’re creating:

MonadAsk r m -- from Pursuit
MonadAsk e AppM -- what we're building

So m ~ AppM.

But the typed hole for asks from gives me (ReaderT Env Aff a). Since asks :: MonadAsk r m => (r -> a) -> m a, I concluded that

asks from :: m               a
?a        :: ReaderT Env Aff a

…and therefore m ~ ReaderT Env Aff. Now there are two options. Either I’ve kinda sorta understood how this works and the newtype being a newtype just “vanishes” and therefore the AppM in MonadAsk e AppM is really equivalent to its content, MonadAsk e ReaderT Env Aff or I have some really profound misunderstanding here.

Here’s the full snippet with hopefully all the required context.

newtype AppM a
  = AppM (ReaderT Env Aff a)

instance monadAskAppM :: TypeEquals e Env => MonadAsk e AppM where
  ask :: AppM e
  ask = AppM $ (asks from :: ?a)

In this instance, asks from does have the type ReaderT e Aff Env, but that type is still distinct from AppM Env. Newtypes don’t “vanish”; the reason this works is that the AppM constructor takes you from ReaderT Env Aff a to AppM a. Note that these two m type variables are separate - they are bound in different places and so they don’t both need to be substituted with the same type.

So where is the m in asks from :: m a bound and why does it have ReaderT e Aff Env? It’s been a while that I wrote Haskell and apparently all this intuitive knowledge is lost again.

The type of asks from is

forall r s m.
  MonadAsk r m =>
  TypeEquals r s =>
  m s