How do you lint purescript?

I am new to Purescript and I am trying to set up tools to help me code. Is there any linter for Purescript? It will be awesome for something like ESLint for Purescript(or maybe rules for Purescript in ESLint), but unfortunately I cannot find any. What linter is the community using?

1 Like

Think about it differently, why do you need linter ? what it does for you ? and try to find equivalent. What we use for “linting” and validating is the compiler. and there is purescript-ide for your code editor which helps to find where are the issues and helps to write purescript. https://github.com/purescript-emacs/psc-ide-emacs or https://github.com/nwolverson/vscode-ide-purescript

so if you use ide + compiler, you can see type errors in code. This can be futher accompanied by repl where you can try and inspect stuff.

And to help you with searching for a function there is ?hole which you can put instead of function you want to use and it will suggest what you can use. (the const of it is that it usually doesn’t suggest infix version of the function)

and if you still want linting to force certain cody style, I think this will be supported later but I am not aware of any linter for purescript.

2 Likes

I’d second this - many of the kinds of things that you need a linter for in other languages are caught by the compiler / type-system in PureScript. It really is a total change of perspective.

One way that i like to think of, and explain, how it works in effect is to encourage the novice to learn how to use the type system to express all the kinds of “memo to self” comments and notes that you’d have in another language “memo to self - remember that the list of widgets could be empty” or “TODO: is this field validated here, need to check”.