How to disable Kind annotations in REPL

Hello :slight_smile:

There is a kind annotation now

> f x = x 
> :type f
forall (t1 :: Type). t1 -> t1

> :type map
forall (f :: Type -> Type) (a :: Type) (b :: Type). Functor f => (a -> b) -> f a -> f b

I am a newbie (with a beginner perspective aiming at programming real world programs) and I find it excessively leaned over, ML theory for compiler writers, and also overly pedantic. F#, OCaml don’t show this information and I guess they had plenty of time to implement such things.

How will this be of use to me ? Can a practical (stuff like halogen) programmer quantify when will I require this information ? Isn’t it purely for display ? I thought this was for the likes of Proofs Assistants.

This led me to ponder the when : Information dump should be contextual.

I wish I could turn off this extra typing of types, because I will probably never ever have to use it or I could do without. I don’t know what fields of programming it helps.

A toggle to switch On and Off kind annotation would reduce scattering of relevant type output that I keep on laboriously sieving to pick them up, while filtering the kind typing noise/bloat. It would revert outputs to single lines when possible and be a lighter read again. I have limited register capacity in my head ! This makes me undo mentally this feature all the time.

A toggle lets switch according to the highness of code. It could be “:type” and “:kind” (fullest).

I checked out a version of purescript anterior to this hard modification for development. I will pull out the latest version for production. Will I be missing any new language features or hit deprecated ones ?

TLDR: F# and OCaml don’t have higher-kinded types, i.e. the capability to have a function parameterized over a type that takes other types, so there is no way that information would ever be useful to you. While 'a list, a list of any type a is valid, 'a 'f is not, i.e. any type f that itself takes type a.