How to learn PureScript in 2020?

I’m trying to learn PureScript. I have some experience in front-end development. I read 1 to 7 chapter on book[dot]purescript[dot]org but still don’t understand the type. I want to find tutorials like reactjs[dot]org/docs/getting-started[dot]html had. Build a simple web application step by step.

I found github[dot]com/JordanMartinez/purescript-cookbook but it’s lack of explanation.
I found thomashoneyman[dot]com/guides/real-world-halogen/ but I’m definitely not an intermediate PureScript developer.
And here are several tutorials out of date.

Currently I’m trying to do experiment with purescript-cookbook and hope I can understand those type things. I’m nervous, I feel it’s difficult to learn PureScript and start to make things and get a job. What should I do?

5 Likes

Have you gone through my learning repo?

4 Likes

+1 to Jordan’s Reference.

Also come join the Functional Programming Slack.
Invite here: https://fpchat-invite.herokuapp.com/
And then the Slack channels #purescript-beginners and #purescript.

My experience has been that people are happy to help out, provide guidance, and answer questions, no matter how basic :slight_smile:

1 Like

Also, a good way to build up to RealWorldHalogen (…if Halogen as a framework is in fact your interest) is to work through the official Halogen guide first:
https://purescript-halogen.github.io/purescript-halogen/.

I got a lot of value out of the official guide.

1 Like

Thanks for sharing your feedback. This helps us identify what needs improvement.

I agree with you about the difficulty (this was the hardest language for me to learn), so don’t feel bad if things are really confusing right now. I believe this is due to a few factors:

• Functional programming style is very different than other languages
  • Lots of unfamiliar syntax
  • Lack of learning materials and tutorials