Implement generic show for my Type -> Type

Im just starting out with purescript and would like to implement a generic show for my Type → Type for all values that implement show. What im trying is this:

data Sentiment a = Ask a | Bid a
instance showSentiment :: Show (Sentiment a) where
  show :: forall (a :: Type). Show a => Sentiment a -> String
  show (Bid a) = "Bid " <> show a
  show (Ask a) = "Ask " <> show a

However this does not compile:

No type class instance was found for

Data.Show.Show a1

while checking that type forall (a :: Type). Show a => Sentiment a -> String
  is at least as general as type t0 -> String
while checking that expression \$1 ->
                                 case $1 of
                                   (Bid a) -> (...) (...)
                                   (Ask a) -> (...) (...)
  has type t0 -> String
in value declaration showSentimentRecord

where a1 is a rigid type variable
        bound at (line 0, column 0 - line 0, column 0)
      t0 is an unknown type

My questions is now why is this not compiling and is it possible to have a show for my Sentiment type that works for all Int, Number any Record etc?

1 Like

You are very close!

I think you might just be missing one thing: the first line of the instance declaration introduces the type variable a. It’s already in scope inside the body of the instance, where you declare members like show.

(Instance declarations are the one place in PureScript where type variables can be implicitly introduced, as opposed to explicitly with a forall or as parameters on the left side of a type, data, or newtype declaration. Some of us are interested in changing this in some future release, so that instance declarations can, and eventually must, have a forall-style signature as well—as a newcomer getting tripped up on this issue, we would be interested in your feedback on that proposal!)

So: