Is Int a lawful EuclideanRing?

I’m new to PS and am exploring the type classes for numbers and math stuff. I was messing around with implementing some smaller integer types like Int8 with the same classes as Int. Once I started writing property tests to verify the laws were upheld, I realized I couldn’t get the EuclideanRing laws to pass because overflow wrapping messes things up. For instance, the integral domain law is violated because bottom * 2 is zero. Also, the submultiplicative euclidean function law is violated because degree bottom is greater than degree (bottom * 2); same with top instead of bottom.

This made me we wonder if things worked differently for Int somehow, but it doesn’t. Int has the same issue. I’m wondering if I am misunderstanding something or if this is expected and just accepted due to limitations of machine integers. If it’s expected, why use this class with these laws?

Not sure if the Semiring docs answer this question:

Note: The Number and Int types are not fully law abiding members of this class hierarchy due to the potential for arithmetic overflows, and in the case of Number , the presence of NaN and Infinity values. The behaviour is unspecified in these cases.