Newbie question: Easing cognitive loads involving MonadTransformers and lifts

Hi guys, newbie here.

I just started a pet project in PureScript. I’m working in Monad Transformers, and I’m running into something that drains my brain quite a bit, and I’m wondering how you would approach it.

Let’s say I’ve got a bunch of functions S that result in Effect (Maybe a), but I want to work in a MaybeT Effect a. Now, for various reasons, I don’t want to change all the original functions S to be MaybeT Effect a, because doing so will involve rewriting a bunch of code. So I create two functions hoistMaybe and translateMaybe. It wasn’t hard to google it and find a base on how to write these:

hoistMaybe :: forall a m. Maybe a -> MaybeT m a
translateMaybe :: forall a m. Effect (Maybe a) -> MaybeT Effect a

And that’s fine. I wish the nature of Monad Transformers allowed there to be a general solution, but sure, I can write a hoistX and translateX for every concrete Monad Transformer, nbd.

So using these functions, I’m able to implement a bunch of MaybeT Effect a functions. So then I go to test, and I get to using Spec, where the tests are all written as Aff Unit. Ah, crap. To keep the code easy for my brain to handle, I now need to be in MaybeT Aff a, not MaybeT Effect a. So I write the following functions so that I can use my MaybeT functions in the same place, and then I write some tests:

-- I discard a Nothing as a testing failure
runMaybeAff :: forall a. MaybeT Aff a -> Aff Unit

-- Seems like I have to convert the results of my existing 
-- functions using `runMaybeT` and translateMaybe`.
liftMaybeEffect :: forall a. MaybeT Effect a -> MaybeT Aff a

-- I also have some `Effect a` functions to run.
liftAffEffect :: forall a. Effect a -> MaybeT Aff a

-- Now I can write my test
it "does a thing" $ runMaybeAff do 
  a <- (doThing1 :: MaybeT Effect a) # liftMaybeEffect
  b <- (doThing2 :: MaybeT Effect b) # liftMaybeEffect

-- Easy enough to write `lift`