Observer pattern, examples, libs, alternatives?

I am only getting into purescript land and it seems very promising. I have been working with a lot of react and SPA in my previous projects. I used MobX, Redux, for state management ( I like MobX more).
However since I discover JAMstack approach, I am trying to get away from react where it is possible. Most of my use cases don’t require benefits of react and keeping html boilerplate and css in their spheres feels so nice. I started to play with recreating vanila js calls to dom to do my manipulation. Everything is nice but I feel that when the global state/ or project grows I am going to lost track of updating certain components and calling everything to render. This sounds a lot like observer pattern fit. So my question is, is there pattern / library you use to manage state with ? I noticed there is observer in WEB.DOM but that one is for lazy loading images etc. Not what I need.

I found this repo https://github.com/bodil/purescript-observable which could seems to fit to my use case but is long forgotten. and last time there was movement is 4 years ago.

There is rxjs which is also 2 version behind and feels like big overkill, if I am going to use only observer from it. I could be wrong, so please correct me.

MobX convert is crazy idea for me. Maybe something really simple with FFI. ?

So my question is: What kind of library do you use for this use case ? or alternative.

I don’t want to do anything with react if possible, so please alternatives.

Also if you know any micro package for throttle | debounce. I don’t need anything more.

Note: I am planning to use Aff wonderful package for most of my code.
or Should I just implement my own observer pattern ?

When I am thinking about it, isn’t this use case for lenses as well ?

Not sure if it’s exactly what you’re looking for, but perhaps Aff.Bus could help you?

1 Like