Partially applied type in Proxy with Row Type param

I have a function that takes a Proxy for a given open Row Type, and a record of that row type and another one not in the proxy. I’ve gotten it so the function type checks, but now I can’t get the actual Proxy value to type check due to “Type synonym Point is partially applied”.

I am very new to Purescript and have no clue why that would be a problem, let alone how to find the proper way of doing it. Here’s the stripped down code I’m failing with. I want to keep the Proxy there so I can switch it out to a custom data type with even more phantom params that also get used by myFn.

type Named r = (name :: String | r)

type Point r = (x :: Number, y :: Number | r)

myFn :: forall r. Proxy r -> {| r + Named + ()} -> Unit
myFn _ _ = unit

myProxy :: Proxy Point -- Uh oh, why do I have to apply this?
myProxy = Proxy

myTest :: Unit
myTest = myFn myProxy {name: "Vatqihema", x: 10.0, y: 15.0}

Welcome!

PureScript’s type system builds types out of a few building blocks: type application, data and newtype constructors, forall quantification, class constraints, and rows. Type synonyms are not in this list! A type synonym only aliases another type; it doesn’t create a new type.

If this analogy helps, type synonyms are to data types as macros (in some other language with macros!) usually are to functions—they look the same but they don’t represent types/values that you can bind to variables all by themselves. They’re intended to expand early in the type-checking process and then vanish. So you can’t do the things you want to do with Point, because Point is not a type-level function (PureScript doesn’t have first-class type-level functions, although as with Haskell, you can approximate them with classes). It has no meaning if it isn’t applied to another type and then expanded.