PureScript book Chapter 10 Exercise 6 (EncodeJson, DecodeJson Tree) - need some help

Hello,
I am new to PureScript and having a tough time to solve some JSON encoding issues from PureScript book - argonaut doesn’t like me yet.

This is what I’hve tried so far:

instance encodeJsonTree :: EncodeJson a => EncodeJson (Tree a) where                                                                                       
  encodeJson (Leaf a) = encodeJson a                                                                                                                       
  encodeJson (Branch tl tr) = encodeJson [tl, tr] -- same result as encodeJson [encodeJson tl, encodeJson tr]?                                                    

instance decodeJsonTree :: DecodeJson a => DecodeJson (Tree a) where                             
  decodeJson json = do                                                                           
    decoded <- decodeJson json                                                                   
    case decoded of                                                                              
      [tl,tr] -> Branch <$> decodeJson tl <*> decodeJson tr                                      
      a -> Right (Leaf a)                                                            
      _ -> Left $ TypeMismatch "Tree"

Error message for decodeJsonTree is a bit hard to understand:

[PureScript TypesDoNotUnify] [E] Could not match type

Array Json

with type

a0

while trying to match type Tree (Array Json)
with type Tree a0
while checking that expression DecodeJson$Dict { decodeJson: \json →

}
has type DecodeJson$Dict (Tree a0)
in value declaration decodeJsonTree

where a0 is a rigid type variable
bound at (line 0, column 0 - line 0, column 0)

After having tried to solve the exercise for longer time now - either resulting in an error result for spago test (this is the goal) or non-compilable code - I really appreciate some helping hint.