Solving recursion/performance problem

Hello there.

I’m new to this discourse and really Purescript. I took a few tries at learning FP, first with Haskell, then with Purescript and I think I’m finally making headway in a substantial way.

To put the skills into practice I took adventofcode as a playground. Not long into the puzzles and I can’t seem to solve a problem due to recursion and I’m not there yet with different monads to be able to solve it with State/ST/Ref yet so I’d really appreciate some pointers.

The problem is:

— Day 7: Some Assembly Required —

This year, Santa brought little Bobby Tables a set of wires and bitwise logic gates! Unfortunately, little Bobby is a little under the recommended age range, and he needs help assembling the circuit.

Each wire has an identifier (some lowercase letters) and can carry a 16-bit signal (a number from 0 to 65535 ). A signal is provided to each wire by a gate, another wire, or some specific value. Each wire can only get a signal from one source, but can provide its signal to multiple destinations. A gate provides no signal until all of its inputs have a signal.

The included instructions booklet describes how to connect the parts together: x AND y -> z means to connect wires x and y to an AND gate, and then connect its output to wire z .

For example:

• 123 -> x means that the signal 123 is provided to wire x .
  • x AND y -> z means that the bitwise AND of wire x and wire y is provided to wire z .
  • p LSHIFT 2 -> q means that the value from wire p is left-shifted by 2 and then provided to wire q .
  • NOT e -> f means that the bitwise complement of the value from wire e is provided to wire f .

Other possible gates include OR (bitwise OR) and RSHIFT (right-shift). If, for some reason, you’d like to emulate the circuit instead, almost all programming languages (for example, C, JavaScript, or Python) provide operators for these gates.

For example, here is a simple circuit:

123 -> x
456 -> y
x AND y -> d