Spago.dhall - Specify a Version for a Dependency

Hello.

I discovered today that pretty much all current documentation of how to build anything in Halogen is targeting v4.0.0. I’ve gotten past the Bower awkwardness and am using Spago, as is apparently the recommended tool for today. However, I’d like to just “make something work” and the latest Halogen has breaking changes in it. For example, the changes to Halogen.Component.ChildPath, which appears to have completely changed, based on the notes I read for version 5. I’d like to be able to tell Spago to just use the older version of Halogen, for now. However, I can’t find documentation on how to pin a specific package version in spago.dhall anywhere. Can someone point me in the right direction? Thanks.

@daveman1010221 I am new to Purescript too

From my understanding of spago and .dhall files to handle packages, what you want is look into packages.dhall and replace the = between curly braces in let additions = {=} or let overrides = {=}, with something like

let Package =
  { dependencies : List Text  -- the list of dependencies of the Package
  , repo = Text               -- the address of the git repo the Package is at
  , version = Text            -- git tag
  }

From the documentation https://spacchetti.readthedocs.io/en/latest/spago.html

Also check the packages.dhall file in your local folder comment which has

## Use Cases

Most will want to do one or both of these options:
1. Override/Patch a package's dependency
2. Add a package not already in the default package set

This file will continue to work whether you use one or both options.
Instructions for each option are explained below.

### Overriding/Patching a package

Purpose:
- Change a package's dependency to a newer/older release than the
    default package set's release
- Use your own modified version of some dependency that may
    include new API, changed API, removed API by
    using your custom git repo of the library rather than