Spago2nix, any complete example to look at?

I’m trying to find a way to include a PureScript frontend in a project that uses Nix to build. On here I found references to both spago2nix and purs-nix and opted to try out the former first (the second being a flake put me off since I haven’t any knowledge of that yet). Setting up a dev environment with spago2nix was simple enough, but writing a derivation to be able to nix-build wasn’t.

I did write an issue asking for a more complete example in the project (issue #48) but I thought I’d ask here too in an attempt to widen the net.

Any suggestions or pointers will be much appreciated.

1 Like

I’m no Nix expert (even though I’d like to be one day!), but recently I got purs-tidy using spago2nix in easy-purescript-nix's derivation. I think that might be an okay place to start as it does the whole build cycle to compile and distribute an executable NodeJS script.

$ spago2nix generate 4 -- --config ./spago.dhall

This will give you a spago-packages.nix file you can import into your Nix project which will download and put the PureScript packages from their corresponding Git forge into your Nix store. The generated file also provides you some tools/functions for consuming those packages in your Nix derivation.

I’m not sure if you read some outdated text or just saw flake.nix in the repo (if it’s the former please do let me know), but purs-nix is compatible with nix stable as well :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanks, that got me a bit closer to the goal. I have to say though that your default.nix is much different from the instructions on the spago2nix site, I don’t think I’d ever have come up with that myself.

I ended up with the following

in stdenv.mkDerivation rec {
  pname = "my-frontend";
  src = lib.cleanSource ./.;
  version = "0.1";

buildInputs = [
    spagoPkgs.installSpagoStyle
    spagoPkgs.buildSpagoStyle
    spagoPkgs.buildFromNixStore
    purescript
    spago
  ];

unpackPhase = ''