The state of things

It’s been 7 months since I announced that I would be taking a long break from PureScript development, and I’d like to take some time to provide an update on what I’ve been up to, and make some comments on the state of things as I see them as a PureScript user.

What I’ve been up to

I had been spending less and less time on PureScript for several months before I decided to finally call it quits. I’m not entirely sure why, but I found myself losing interest in leading the development of the language. In retrospect, I think it’s fair to say that I was quite thoroughly burned out from trying to balance open source work and real life. Since December, I’ve been concentrating on doing far less open source work, and only on things which I find enjoyable. I still love to use PureScript, and I’ve been working to increase PureScript adoption at work, which I’m happy to say is going very well. I’ve also been using PureScript for a few low-priority personal projects like Purview, trying to write more blog posts and give more talks, building the LA PureScript group, and supervising Arthur’s fantastic thesis on comonadic UIs in PureScript. Overall, I’m still sorry that my transition out was so abrupt, but I’m glad that I decided to take the break.

Some observations

Let me say first - I am writing this in my capacity as a PureScript user, not a former PureScript contributor, and not as the creator of the language. I would like to share some thoughts I’ve had regarding the future development of the language, and some constructive suggestions for action. This is not meant to be a criticism.