Using "routing" with react (no halogen)

Does anyone have a working, simple example of doing routing with the routing library and react-basic-hooks? I found this post but it’s not complete and as a beginner, I frankly don’t get it.
Naively, I would’ve guessed routing is just parsing the URL hash and selecting a component based off it, but the type of matches matches :: forall a. Match a -> (Maybe a -> a -> Effect Unit) -> Effect (Effect Unit) is very much removed from react, so I’m a little intimidated here. Also, most of the stuff you find is using halogen, which I’m not using. I also saw the real world purescript react example, but that one is even less helpful because it’s too big and is using more libraries.
Can anyone help?

Maybe this recipe helps?

Sadly, this example is a bit too minimal. It doesn’t use React.

Thanks for checking out my real world purescript react example. It’s uses purescript-wire-react-router. That liberary has a small example that you might find useful:

Thanks, but then I’d have to learn about wire (which doesn’t even have a Readme?), wire-react and then about routing. It’s seems like quite a detour.

I put together a small example just using routing and react-basic-hooks here: https://try.purescript.org/?gist=1c5c2f222f723acefae637df3f6df721. (Pretty much lifted the example from the routing docs here.)

I think using hash-based routing (as this example does) from Routing.Hash is probably quite a bit simpler than using the Routing.PushState module. I think to use the latter you’d have to wrap your app in a Context that provides the PushStateInterface and then have special link components (in place of anchor tags) that call pushState (which they could get from useContext). At least that’s how I imagine it could work.

This is my first attempt at routing with PureScript + React so there’s probably room for improvement :slight_smile:.