What was wrong with bower?

I’m relatively new to PureScript, and as such, I have only ever managed my packages with spago. I’m curious about what the pain points were with bower that led the community to shift to a package set approach?

2 Likes

Bower as a registry is not maintained anymore (it’s been on borrowed time for a while), so it has a bad reputation from the JS community. The built-in solver was also really terribly naive, so you could get into really weird situations if you tried to install new things without first nuking your bower_components. Other than that, I think it was alright.

4 Likes

PureScript with Spago and Haskell with Stack are the only languages I’ve ever worked with that use a “package set,” instead of typical package management that you’d get with e.g., npm or yarn. The idea is that the community curates a list of packages with version numbers that are all known to work together. You typically just target a public package set rather than having a lock file that lists whatever versions of each dependency you happen to end up using (that might or might not be compatible).
Back when PureScript used Bower, I sometimes found myself in “dependency hell” where I couldn’t find the proper versions of everything in order to get my project compiling and working. Sometimes I even had to back off to an earlier release of the compiler and downgrade a bunch of packages to make it work. All that went away once I switched to spago. Now upgrading to newer versions of packages/compilers is quite painless!
Once you get used to spago, you’ll wish every other ecosystem you work with used package sets :smile:

3 Likes

I think we need to draw a distinction between the general approaches of package sets versus version bounds and solving, and bower versus spago specifically.