Why is the currying suffer so much on performance rather than take the method used by BuckleScript?

I’m still learning PureScript and find it awesome. One of the thing that I find may quite influence the performance is how PureScript handles currying when compiles to JS. It returns functions for each of the argument, which as I think, may quite slow down the overall performance. However, another language BuckleScript also supports currying but seems with less performance penalty.

So my question is, what is preventing us from implementing the currying like BuckleScript?

2 Likes

To save readers from researching independently and discussing based on different assumed ideas, can you describe how BuckleScript implements currying?

1 Like

The reason I didn’t put it here is that I can’t say I understand it fully. I can, however, put an example here to be more illustrative.

let add a b = a + b;;

let add_1 = add 1;;

let () =
    print_int (add_1 2);;

This code generates:

// Generated by BUCKLESCRIPT VERSION 5.0.4, PLEASE EDIT WITH CARE
'use strict';

var Pervasives = require("bs-platform/lib/js/pervasives.js");

function add(a, b) {
  return a + b | 0;
}

function add_1(param) {
  return 1 + param | 0;
}

Pervasives.print_int(add_1(2));

exports.add = add;
exports.add_1 = add_1;
/*  Not a pure module */

The currying here seems to be inlined. I think we can do this as well, but for FFI, use a wrapper or something like that?

1 Like

I think this simply falls into optimization not having been a priority. In general the answer to the question “why is this not as fast as bucklescript?” is pretty much always that it hasn’t been a priority.

And why is that happening? I think the performance is quite important in general cases…

1 Like